Change Encoder/Decoder Web UI Users
To add, change, or remove users who have access to the Encoder/Decoder web interface, log in to the Encoder or Decoder and access the Accounts tab.
NOTE: You must be logged in as an Administrator-level user to make these changes.
Adding a New User
You must have Admin access to the Web UI to add users.
To add a new user, click the Add User button.
Name: a plaintext name for the user; this is just for future reference in editing users.
Username: This username will be entered by the user to log in to the web UI.
Password: Enter a password that satisfies your security requirements
Verify Password: Re-enter the password to confirm.
Type: Admin, Operator, Guest
- Admin users have full control over settings, as well as users.
- Operator users have full control over settings, but cannot add, change, or remove users.
- Guest users have no ability to change settings, but can view all settings. They cannot add, change, or remove users.
Click Submit to save the new user, or Cancel to return to the Accounts tab without saving.
Changing a User:
You must have Admin access to the Web UI to change users.
From the main accounts page, locate the user you'd like to change and click the "edit" link at the far right.
Name: a plaintext name for the user; this is just for future reference in editing users.
Username: This username will be entered by the user to log in to the web UI.
Type: Admin, Operator, Guest
- Admin users have full control over settings, as well as users.
- Operator users have full control over settings, but cannot add, change, or remove users.
- Guest users have no ability to change settings, but can view all settings. They cannot add, change, or remove users.
NOTE:You must enter the password in the Password fields, whether it is being changed or not.
New Password: Enter a password that satisfies your security requirements
Verify Password: Re-enter the password to confirm.
Click Apply Changes to save the user changes, or Cancel to return to the Accounts tab without saving.
NOTE:If changing the user as which one is currently logged in, changes in permissions will not apply until after the user is logged off. †This includes deleting the user that's logged in.
IMPORTANT NOTE:Be careful not to delete your last Admin-level user; the system won't prevent this, but doing so may prevent you from ever changing users again.